Housing Protection – Know Your Rights

There are seven protected classes when it comes to housing in the United States.  Not eight.   (More on “eight” in a minute.) But literally from the moment you sign up for real estate classes you are told about the seven protected classes.  Per HUD and a million other websites they are;

  • race
  • color
  • religion
  • national origin
  • sex
  • disability
  • familial status

Recently, as professional property managers, we have had to evict a couple people because despite trying to work with them they could  not or would not catch up on their rent.  And one of them was out of his lease and kind of a pain with so may phone calls (along with other issues) that we decided to move forward on the eviction.  Now this person has filed a racial complaint against us.

Never mind there is no basis in fact.  Never mind it’s not the way I choose to live my life, anyway.  (See this post from May of 2007.)  Never mind that we evict people of all kinds because they all have one thing in common that is not included in the seven (and here’s where we get to the eighth that so many tenants seem to think deserves to be in there) is that they don’t pay their rent on time or sometimes at all!

It is not your right, Mr. and/or Mrs. and/or Ms. Tenant, to live in somebody’s house without paying for the services.  Go ahead and check with HUD or your attorney or whomever you choose.  The eighth class you want, the one that says you can pay if and when you want, it not protected.

Leave a comment

Filed under Property Management, Social Issues

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s