The Tenant Bluff

As a propety manager of Kansas City investment homes I’m constantly amazed at “The Tenant Bluff.”  They stare you in the eye as they fill out the application.  Telling you how good things are.  They try to become your friend.  They even give you the money to run the application through a credit report. 

They’re counting on the property manager just pocketing the fee and not checking based on a good feeling.  Over the years this happens more than you can imagine.  I guess from the tenant point of view if you pay a few application fees you’ll eventually hit a property manager or rental home owner that will go off feelings and not credit reports.  It must work.  But not with me.  🙂

I can’t pick tenants at a 100% accuracy rate.  No one can.  After all, things can change after a tenant moves in.  But you should always do your due dilligence before letting someone move in.  That’s for sure.

5 Comments

Filed under Property Management

5 responses to “The Tenant Bluff

  1. As an owner, it is needed to be more observative to your tenant if they deserve to rent in your property. Being more wise to fight tenants psychologically. This is a great post! Thank you for the information.

  2. Patty

    I have a tenant moving out early. Her lease is up in Feb. She hasn’t paid rent since May. I prefer her to move out since she isn’t paying the rent. My question is can I take her to court and have her wages garnished for the back rent and the rent thru Feb or until I get it sold… I am so tired of being a landlady, I hope to sell this house.

  3. Patty,
    Your lease is still in force so yes, you can get her out (first priority) and then pursue legal action to recover whatever (if any) funds you can.

    If I can help you to liquidate the property and/or manage the property, don’t hesitate to contact me.

    Chris – 913.568.1579

  4. Patty

    Thank you….I am interested in selling it. When I get it ready I will give you a call. My goal is to sell it as soon as possible. She is suppose to be out Sunday

  5. Exhaust every avenue in signing a tenant… You only deal with a bad one once, after that you spend money, check references, and do whatever else it takes to never relive the nightmare again.

Leave a Reply

