Investment Property Worksheet

I use a very basic investment property worksheet that I acquired from Tom Lundstedt a few years ago. It’s simple and I can pencil out figures right in front of people so they can see how the numbers work (or don’t work) on any prospective rental property.

Yes.  Yes.  I know.  I too have used those fancy computer generated investment model programs.  But they are so stale and the sometimes you can’t see how the numbers were derived.  So I like this better.  And I fully realize that many real estate investors have many different formulas.  Funny thing is that the successful real estate investors may have different formulas but always end up with about the same calculations.

For the first time, I’m sharing a sample.  I always worried about sharing it.  But after years and years of investment property experience I realize it’s just a paper without the knowledge that goes with it.  So enjoy.

investment property worksheet

6 Comments

Filed under 4 Benefits of Real Estate Investing, Investment Property, Real Estate Investing

6 responses to “Investment Property Worksheet

  1. Another Investor

    Simple but effective. Love the real estate taxes in this jurisdiction – the property tax rate is over 2.75 percent!

  2. AI – great catch. The taxes are based on the last appraised value of $79,400. I didn’t even mention that the ARV of this home is ready to sell condition is in the mid $70’s range. Seriously. Today’s market. Not yesterday’s.

  3. Another Investor

    Can the buyer file a tax appeal, based on the purchase price? It’s only about $500 in savings, but for the price of a stamp, it might be worth the investment!

  4. Yes. A home buyer can always appeal. In Independence you probably have a good shot. But if they are on their game they’ll correct it the next year after the repairs are made and it’s occupied.

  5. I’ve had excellent success appealing property values in Wyandotte County. It took 2 hours altogether to take pictures, print physical copies and then meet with a guy in the that government office. I dropped the value by 65% but that was partially because they had vastly increased their appraisal while the property had been in foreclosure and a fair amount of damage occurred during foreclosure. Still, 2 hours gets me back $800 a year I would have had to pay in taxes. That was 3 years ago and when they re-evaluated last year they again devalued the property without me requesting it but only by 2% or so.

  6. As you prove every situation is different. Sounds like for that amount of money I would do the same. WyCo is famous for wildly inaccurate tax appraisals.

Leave a Reply

