Is Your Choice Of REALTOR Important To The Sale Of Your Home?

People think of REALTORS as interchangeable and not one too much better than the next.  But are you sure? 

Today I attempted to set up showing appointments for 4 Kansas City duplexes.  I am giving two days notice so it shouldn’t be too difficult, right?

Call #1– Info said to call agent to set up showings so I did.  It took several minutes (I simply cannot make this up) for the agent to recognize what property I was speaking of and then had no answers to any of the annoying questions I asked including “What is the rent?” (that should be on the MLS info) and “Do you know when the leases expire?”  The agent has promised to call me back.  I await with baited breath.

Call #2 – They use a call center service.  Appointment made.  No problems.  Oh, and the rents were on the MLS sheet.

Call #3 – After about 10 rings the answering machine kicked on and said they were either closed or on the phone.  (It’s 9:55 am on a Thursday.)  I left a message.  This is a very well known agent so I’m hoping there are systems in place to properly listen to my message, make the appointment and call me back.  Hey, I can hope, can’t I?

Call #4 – MLS directions said to call a call center service.  So I did.  Three times.  Without an answer or answering machine.  Then I called the agent.  Voice mail of course.  I left my message.

Let me ask you a question.  With the amount of inventory currently on the market how hard do you think I’m gonna work to set up these showings?  With similar numbers and address out there for rental properties I can set up appointments with agents that make showings a “no hassle” proposition.  And if your agent will be dealing with your rental properties don’t you think miscellaneous information like rents and expenses and lease terms would be good information to make available to selling agents.  It’s not like it won’t be asked about anyway.  If your agent isn’t asking, how much do they actually know? 

So the next time you think your sister-in-law’s friend of the family would be a great agent since you already know her you might want to ask her “how hard is it to see your listings?” 

There are many, many great real estate agents in practice today in the Kansas City area.  And sadly, there are many, many agents that make selling your house more difficult than it needs to be.  Choose carefully.

7 Comments

Filed under Kansas City Real Estate, Personal Real Estate Opinions

7 responses to “Is Your Choice Of REALTOR Important To The Sale Of Your Home?

  1. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Stacey Derbinshire

  2. You are spot on about this problem. I run into it all the time in the St. Louis market too. I’m still waiting for callbacks on showing requests from 4 days ago. I don’t know how some of these people ever close deals.

  3. I’m not surprised this is a problem elsewhere. Great to hear from you!

  4. Good article! I am surprised that in such a big city and during hard time for realtor such unprofessional one is able to survive. I think the best way to deal with it is to finish the relation (and mention his name on the web at least…). I am working in West Toronto homes and name is here crucial, because the competition in Toronto is very big at every level…

  5. I would have to mention so many names it would be fruitless. 🙂

  6. I love this stuff. Thanks for your post. I hope people realize how valuable this kind of information is. I’ve written several articles about finding the right agent and about the nonsense that goes on.

Leave a Reply

