Kansas City Rental Property Registration Program

kansas cityEffective today, January 1, 2008, it is MANDATORY that all owners of rental property within Kansas City, Missouri limits register their income homes.  Registration runs through January 2008 without penalty.  Penalty for non-registration on and after February 1, 2008, will be $50 per unit. 

To get all of the details you will need to follow this link.  From this link you will be able to download the proper forms to take care of this task.

Again, Kansas City now requires rental property to be registered with the city.  Hopefully, this is as far as the law will go.  Based on how they’ve mismanaged just about every other program under their care and supervision we can only hope they don’t go to mandatory yearly inspections with fees.

13 Comments

Filed under Legal Issues, Misc. Real Estate, Property Management

13 responses to “Kansas City Rental Property Registration Program

  1. Chris,
    This is a great FYI for property owners. I can only hope this process with the city goes smoothly.

  2. Erik – thanks for stopping by!

    I’m a little leary of what the future holds here. When do they start charging for the same thing?

  3. Pat

    FYI

    All the information you provide will end up on KIVA. (on-line data base under permit section)
    http://kivaweb.kcmo.org/kivanet/2/index.cfm

    Your personal information (address, phone number and date of birth) will be available on line.

    Call your city rep and demand that personal information be protected.

    The online system is hard to navigate and the mail in regrestration will cost the city a lot of money to imput.

  4. Pat – thanks for commenting. The other issue I dislike is HAVING TO HAVE A KCMO ADDRESS for the designated agent. It is ridiculous that I have to find an address to use within the city when I only live 10 miles away. Just my $0.02.

    Thanks for commenting.

  5. Just an FYI – Dan Schmelzinger (he’s in charge of the landlord registration program) has told us that they are no longer requiring a local agent.

  6. Thanks for the update. I had called originally and tried to explain the lack of forethought that anyone who had anything to do with the properties might not be located in the actual city limits. I was shot down.

  7. Pat

    Has the KCMO Rental Property Program been canceled?

  8. Tiffany

    I had seen notice of this back when they started the registration of rental properties, and held onto the information because I knew eventually I would turn the house I owned and was living in at the time, into a rental property.

    So now I go to register and the links are all 404 Page Not Found. But I just found new links:

    http://www.kcmo.org/CKCMO/Depts/NeighborhoodAndCommunityServices/Preservation/Rental/index.htm

  9. You’ve made me think and helped me to be a better person. Jesus helps me everyday and I believe he brought me here just to read what you’ve written. Bless you.

  10. Hi there would you mind letting me know which web host you’re using? I’ve
    loaded your blog in 3 different internet browsers and
    I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you recommend a good internet hosting provider at a reasonable
    price? Many thanks, I appreciate it!

  11. My friends appeciate this even before Kansas City Rental Property Registration Program | Kansas City
    Investment Property and Property Management. We are in Orange County|an Orange County realty.

  12. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this superb blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking
    and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and
    will share this blog with my Facebook group.

    Talk soon!

  13. It’s really a nice and helpful piece of info. I am happy that you simply shared this helpful information with
    us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

