Are You Listening To The Right Person?

Sooner or later you have to decide who you are going to listen to when it comes to real estate investing. Newbies have the hardest time deciding.

Many would be real estate investors begin to get interested from the shows they see on tv whether they be the HGTV or A&E variety or whether they be the infomercials put on by Carlton Sheets. Or maybe they read all the way through a Bob Allen newspaper ad.

The studious would be investor may even go to the bookstore and find the real estate section and be amazed at the variety of books available concerning real estate investing.

There are books on:

  • Short Sales
  • Buy & Hold
  • Fix & Sell (Flip)
  • Buying Tax Liens
  • Subject To
  • No Money Down

And I haven’t even scratched the surface with that list. Confusion can set in. Should I listen to the REALTOR that gets a commission when he sells me a house? Should I listen to the “real estate investor” who seems to spend more time selling thousands of dollars of books and tapes than he does investing in rental property? Should I listen to my best friend’s friend who says he’s making a fortune in flipping?

I feel for you if you are a newer real estate investor. I went down a lot of these thought highways myself when I was getting started. But ultimately I chose a path of real estate investing that matched both my ability (financially and time-wise) to my values.

You should do the same.

1 Comment

Filed under Personal Real Estate Opinions, Real Estate Investing

One response to “Are You Listening To The Right Person?

  1. I founded and ran a real estate education academy for 6 years in Chicago. I also had the first real estate investor radio program in Chicago years ago.

    Semi-retired now, I wanted to say that the RIGHT education is paramount. Late night infomercials are generally not where real estate millionaires get their education! Go where the REAL action is!

    Library, trade groups, and the street are where the millions of successful landlords and developers learn, earn and make their mark in the industry.

    I ended up developing the largest private island resort in the Caribbean after a 20 year career as an author, speaker, and developer in the US.

    http://www.dacrowe.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

