Frankly My Dear, I Don’t Give A Damn

At parties people ask me what I think of all the bad news about the real estate market. At grocery stores people ask. At a reunion party for one of my son’s social groups tonight people asked.

Frankly, I’m getting tired of answering. I’ve gone through this before. Here in Kansas City we didn’t get the 15%-20% appreciation rises they got on the coasts. Why do you think we should get the same size corrections they speak of on CNN, MSNBC and Fox?

Jeez. Here’s the deal. If you don’t need to move, don’t. If you do need to move, do. Why is it going to matter? If you are losing on the selling side a case can be made you will more than compensate for that on the buying side. And three years ago is as irrelevant now as three years ago was to that time period then.

If you are a real estate investor you can either sit on your hands and watch the market worrying yourself to death or you can get in the game. Want to know something? If you wait three years the market might, or might not, be hotter than now. How is that a good thing while you are in buying mode?

One of the best pieces of advice I ever got was a guy that told me “start where you are.” It’s fun to talk about shoulda’s and woulda’s and coulda’s. I do it all the time. But FIDO. (Forget It, Drive On.)

Here’s my last point and then I’ll stop. Tomorrow, in a good market or down market or par market, I’m going to get up and go to work. From there, things seem to work out. Ad astra per aspera.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Real Estate Opinions

Leave a Reply

