Do It Yourself Real Estate Investing


I have a confession. Regardless of the task the first thought that comes to my mind is “Hey, I can do that myself and save money!”

For the record, I’m usually wrong.

Take some wood rot and termite damage I needed to repair on my garage door frame. I went out, bought myself a reciprocating saw and tore into the house. After all, when I watch my contractors do it for my client houses they make it look so easy. Now it looks like a butcher got a hold of it! Then I tried fitting in the wood pieces to get ready for the trim pieces.

To make a long story short, I have a guy that does wood rot repairs for a living coming out next week to clean up my mess. He could barely contain his laughter when he walked up on the job I had been doing. And rightfully so, I might add.

*** *** *** *** ***
Sometimes people will take the time to read some blogs, read some books and attend a seminar or two to learn real estate investing. They say to themselves “Hey, I can do that and save myself some money!”

And I don’t blame them for feeling that way. But if they get something wrong, the consequences can be long lasting and disastrous. It is very hard work keeping up with neighborhood trends, rent values, tax codes and income property financing. Knowing what sells and what wont is as much an art as a science. Seeing where growth will occur is a skill that needs constant practice and fine tuning.

I know and understand the base feeling of wanting to accomplish something yourself to both establish your independence and to save/make money. But when it comes to purchasing and/or selling Kansas City income property I hope that you will call a professional.

1 Comment

Filed under Real Estate Investing

One response to “Do It Yourself Real Estate Investing

  1. Jeff Brown

    I just knew I’d seen you at the meetings. 🙂

    I have to make extra money every year to pay for all the things I can’t do with my hands. If my income depended upon the use of my hands I’d starve pretty quickly.

Leave a Reply

