Zarda’s Bar-B-Q: Some of Kansas City’s Best Beans

It has been a while since I’ve done a Barbeque review so I’m going to take a few moments here to do one. Now, in the interest of full disclosure, I worked at Zarda’s from about 1980-1983. Started as a bus boy and when I left after my senior year in high school I was a crew supervisor. (I knew you would be impressed!)

Love that Zarda’s BBQ. That’s all there is to it. Slightly behind Smoke Stack beans, the Zarda beans are the next best. The meat is smoked just right and is always moist and juicy. The burnt ends are to die for. I cannot think of any redeeming nutritional value of eating BBQ, it is just so enjoyable!

Zarda’s has two locations: Blue Springs and Lenexa. They also offer catering. (Pay no attention to their Overland Park location mentioned on the web. It just closed down. Almost an exact duplicate of the Lenexa store with the exception that it was a lousy location. It was actually closer to my home but I still would go to Lenexa.)

On my BBQ scale of 1-10, Zarda’s is a 9.5.

Leave a comment

Filed under Kansas City BBQ

Leave a Reply

