Putting Greenspace in Urban Kansas City

Today’s Kansas City Star had an interesting article on decking I-670 through the urban core to allow for an easier transition between the city’s Crossroads area and the soon to be alive Power & Light district. http://www.kansascity.com/mld/kansascity/16562673.htm

Several ideas were bounced around as to the end use of this deck. I would like to come down on the side that says “yes” I’m for it. And I would like the space to be used for parkland and monuments to Kansas City’s rich past. There are, of course, budgetary concerns and there will be no doubt a several decade’s delay to get it all done. But I think it would be great.

Currently I live out in the suburban jungle. Excellent schools. Plenty of grocery stores. Nice people. But having lived in Bethesda, Maryland I am looking forward to the day when my kids are out of school and I can head back down to a more urban lifestyle. And it would be nice if KC could continue it’s downtown renaissance.

I don’t think I’m alone. There are many of us trapped out here in the ‘burbs waiting for our chance to get back to city. Keep up the good work Kansas City. You’ll get my entertainment dollars when the P&L opens up!

Leave a comment

Filed under Kansas City entertainment, Kansas City Real Estate

Leave a Reply

